Honoring a Legendary Teacher

During his 15 years as a mathematics teacher at Rivers, Dan McCartney earned a reputation as one of the school’s most engaging, charismatic teachers, with a unique ability to ignite in students a love of math and of learning in general. We can think of no better way to honor Dan than to create in his name a permanent program of distinction in the math department. We are proud to announce the creation of the McCartney Scholars Program, a special initiative that is intended to nurture a passion for mathematics among students at Rivers and memorialize a man who gave so much of his spirit and energy to Rivers students.

Once officially launched, the program will give those accepted into the program the opportunity to develop their mathematical skills by giving them access to special advising, additional coursework, alumni mentorship, and more. Each year, all rising juniors with a passion for math will be eligible to apply to the program, and up to six students will be selected. Students will hold the distinction of being McCartney Scholars for their junior and senior years.

Through the generosity of early supporters, we are proud to report that we have raised $907,000 for the endowment fund. In order to launch this program next school year we need to secure more than $1 million dollars. We hope you will help us keep Dan’s legacy alive through the McCartney Scholars Program and consider a donation today.

To learn more about the McCartney Scholars Program and how your donations will help support it, please click here.

McCartney Scholars Committee

List of 1 items.

  • Click here to view full committee list.

    Bob Davis P’06, ’08, ’13, Co-Chair
    Dan Kraft P’12, ’15, ’21, Co-Chair
    Ned Parsons P’17, Head of School
    Janet Correia P’16, ’19, ’22
    Ben Fischman P’18, ’21
    Leslie Fraser P’10, ’14, Dean of Faculty
    Tanya Holton P'15, '18, Director of Stewardship
    Rachel Hunter-Goldman ’08
    Krissie Kelleher P'22, Director of Advancement 
    Angela McCartney P’08, ’15
    Jaclyn McCartney 
    Joseph McCartney ’15
    Kathleen McCartney
    Stephanie McCartney ’08
    Jeff “Doc” Meropol P’98, ’03, Science Department Chair
    Victoria Mizzi, McCartney Scholars Advisor
    Tom Olverson P’02, Former Head of School
    Laurie Slifka P’13, ’16
    Michael Stansky P’10
    Elizabeth Wendorf, Mathematics Department Chair