Rivers’s Talented Runners Shine During Spring Sports Season

The Rivers School track and field team had a strong spring season highlighted by some particularly impressive performances from sprinters Samirah Moody ’21 and Myles Epstein ’19 as well as by long-distance runner Adeline Vettel ’20.

Both Moody and Epstein capped undefeated seasons by taking first place in both the 100m and 200m races at the ISL championship meet and the New Englands. In winning her races, Moody set new ISL records; she also set an ISL record in the long jump, for which she took first place at the ISL meet and sixth place at the New Englands. Vettel took first in both the 1500m and 3000m races at the ISL championship meet and placed second in the 3000m in the New Englands.

Thanks to their efforts, along with other impressive performances by such athletes as Theo Haviland ’19 (javelin) and Cam Stathos ’21 (1500m and 3000m), the girls’ team took sixth place at the New Englands meet, while the boys’ team took ninth place. 

In other spring sports news, boys’ lacrosse coach Justin Walker capped his 17th season with the team by notching his 200th win during a May 18 game against Groton. The milestone brings his combined Red Wings record to 200-97; Walker has not had a losing season since 2005. Although this year’s team was unable to claim an ISL title, they did earn a respectable 13-6 record (it’s worth noting that four games were lost by just one goal). 

The girls’ lacrosse team ended its season with a 9-6 record, and the baseball team earned a 9-7 record. Both teams showed a lot of character throughout the season and earned a number of impressive victories over tough rivals, setting themselves up nicely for future success. In tennis, Hannah Buckhout ’20 proved she will be someone to watch as well, as her impressive play earned her ISL All League honors.

To view our galleries of spring sports photos, click here

Following is a list of individual honors:

ISL League
John Kantaros, boys’ lacrosse, All-League
Antonio Andreozzi, boys’ lacrosse, All-League
Christopher Bucking, boys’ lacrosse, Honorable Mention
Ryan Rahbany, boys’ lacrosse, Honorable Mention
Christian Bosse, boys’ lacrosse, Honorable Mention
Zachary Mickle, boys’ lacrosse, Honorable Mention
Nicholas Bell, boys’ lacrosse, Honorable Mention
Charles Peck, boys’ lacrosse, Honorable Mention
Nathalie Ahn, girls’ lacrosse, All-League
Annabelle Hasselbeck, girls’ lacrosse, All-League
Mallory Hasselbeck, girls’ lacrosse, All-League
Lillian Branka, girls’ lacrosse, Honorable Mention
Cade Webber, baseball, All-League
Connor Ojerholm, baseball, All-League
Benjamin Genser, baseball, Honorable Mention
Jack Dorsey, baseball, Honorable Mention
Ashley Shegog, softball, All-League
Alexa Francesconi, softball, Honorable Mention
Abigail Weiss, softball, Honorable Mention
Hannah Buckhout, girls’ tennis, All-League
Jacqueline Lee, girls’ tennis, All-League
Griffin Bua, boys’ tennis, Honorable Mention
Thomas Kantaros, golf, All-League
Samirah Moody, track and field, All-League, Girls’ MVP
Adeline Vettel, track and field, All-League
Myles Epstein, track and field, All-League

Various Honors
John Kantaros, boys’ lacrosse, US Lacrosse Academic All-American
Mallory Hasselbeck, girls’ lacrosse, Eastern MA All-American
Nathalie Ahn, girls’ lacrosse, Eastern MA All-Academic Team
Samirah Moody, track and field, Boston Globe All-Scholastic
Team Honors
Christopher Bucking, boys’ lacrosse, Ferris Thomsen Jr. Award
John Kantaros, boys’ lacrosse, Most Valuable Player
Fiona Finn, girls’ lacrosse, Coaches Award
Nathalie Ahn, girls’ lacrosse, Red Wing Award
Cade Webber, baseball, Andrew N. Navoni Award
Connor Ojerholm, baseball, Most Improved Player
Ashley Shegog, softball, Coaches Award
Stephanie Dailey, softball, Coaches Award
Abigail Weiss, softball, Red Wing Award
Hannah Buckhout, girls’ tennis, Tozzer Award
Jacqueline Lee, girls’ tennis, Coaches Award
Griffin Bua, boys’ tennis, Tozzer Award
Henry Muller, boys’ tennis, Coaches Award
Thomas Kantaros, golf, Coaches Award
Benjamin Snyder, golf, Charles R. Metchear III Award
Samirah Moody, track and field, Sedulitas Award
Bethany Pasko, track and field, Integritas Award
Myles Epstein, track and field, Sedulitas Award
Max Meyerhardt, track and field, Integritas Award